Tales of the Toot

'Cuz special needs kids need special mamas!

The Wisdom of Yo Gabba Gabba, eh maybe… January 18, 2010

Filed under: family — christycross77 @ 6:08 pm
Tags: ,

Listening to Yo Gabba Gabba in the background today (and most days). Today’s theme is all about dreams-something that I’ve thought alot about lately. It seems “dreams” are the subject matter everywhere I look! I even wrote a blog post last week about dreaming for your kids. In church, we are going through a series called “Ignite” and it’s all about finding and pursuing your dream and God’s purpose for your life. I’m beginning to think the man upstairs is trying to tell me something 🙂 .

In church last week, we learned that by the time most of us are young children we have a dream, a God-given dream, of what we want to do….fewer and fewer of us can name that dream as we get into our teenage years, and by the time we are adults only about 5-6% of us can identify our “dream”. Wow, I wonder why that is?

As we age and get “smarter, more realistic, grown-up” do we just give up on our dreams? Are we smart enough to know that they were just silly dreams? Or are we leaving the “child-likefaith that we need to instead pursue monotonous jobs and tasks that are what we “should” be doing?

If God has formed each and every one of us with a purpose in mind, how do we go about finding that purpose? How do we get back to our 5-year-old hearts and minds? The ones that weren’t afraid of failure or expectation. The ones that didn’t even know that failure was an option.

I don’t know the answers to these questions, but wanted to put this out there for your thoughts, your perspective. Please share with me.

As for me, I recently (accidently) began doing something that was always my dream as a child. From the time I was a very young child until around my teen years I said, “I’m going to be a writer when I grow up!” Through this space and through www.travelingmom.com I have started pursuing that dream again.

Jeez, I was so smart when I was 5…

 

7 Responses to “The Wisdom of Yo Gabba Gabba, eh maybe…”

  1. Theresa Says:

    I love that you have been able to remember the dream God put in you.

    I think that I need to look into finding out what mine was. It might be sad if I find that I never had one. 😦

  2. Walter Says:

    As we grow up, our minds absorb many lies instilled to us be our parent, our environment and our belief systems. These has greatly diminished our understanding of our true capacities. We are meant for greatness and have all what is needed to achieve our dreams. We just need let go of our stifling beliefs. 🙂

  3. Christy,

    I love your message. I have thought the exact same thing before. Just recently I have been re-evaluating where I am in my life and what I am inversting myself, my time and my energy into. I think I know the changes I want to make and the challenges I will face if and when I should change directions, but I am not going to make any decision on my own. I have layed it at the foot of the cross and I am waiting for my lead from the Lord. I want to know that I am serving his purpose. God said that he will give us the desires of our heart so I believe with all of my heart that the path he leads me down will be one where I can find happiness & fulfillment all while serving him at the same time. Please keep me in your prayers. — As for your dream of being a writer, you have a natural gift and talent in writing and I look very forward to reading what your heart has to share with the world. Love & Hugs. Terri

  4. Angelia Sims Says:

    I wanted to be in travel since I was 10years old, but I also wanted to write books when I retired. Now, the dream that “ignited” for me was working with children. The dream God instilled was to work as a missionary in an orphanage. That is my heart calling. I think you are right. I need to figure out how to get there.

    I love your pursuit! I’m so happy for you and love what God has done in your life.

  5. Stefanie Says:

    what an amazing balancing act…and how difficult it is to know when it’s ok to change your dream and refocus on something else without giving up dreaming altogether 🙂

    Thanks for a great post that really made me think…

    …stopping by from MBC and now following you,

    Stefanie
    http://pediatricsafety.net

  6. Hi – just a brief note to say kudos for this entry. Very well-written.

  7. Heather Says:

    1 Corinthians 13:11 just popped in my head as I was reading your post, and it made me think, maybe we put away childish ways/things, but we shouldn’t forget them. (our dreams). It’s sad, I can’t remember any of my dreams when I was younger except the night terrors that I had that started then and continued my whole life.

    I love this post!


Leave a Reply

