Tales of the Toot

'Cuz special needs kids need special mamas!

Accidently Green… January 6, 2010

Filed under: family,going green — christycross77 @ 1:29 pm
Tags:

Ah, as I sit here in my Texas home today, where we are in the midst of our coldest winter temps in years, I cannot help but think of global warming.  (snicker) But seriously, whether I agree with Al Gore or not, whether I believe that we are daily destroying our planet with hairspray and the like…I have gone green, sort of.

Shortly before Christmas, I traded in my beloved 4×4 V8 truck (yes, I am from Texas thank you very much) for a compact 2010 Ford Escape. Not only does it use far less gas, it is also about 1000 times easier to park! And the purchase of it has stimulated my economy at home by reducing our payment about $250 per month and greatly reducing our gas cost! It’s not easy being green and helping out the economy and all…but I’ll take one for the team 😉

We have also recently started recycling our aluminum cans. Doesn’t seem like much, but hey, it’s the little things, right?

Next week maybe I’ll work on actually turning the water off while brushing my teeth….

 

2 Responses to “Accidently Green…”

  1. Angelia Sims Says:

    It really is the little things :-). Good for you! Have you seen that movie Day After Tomorrow?that’s what this cold snap reminds me off. Lol. Maybe we should head to Mexico. 🙂

  2. the luckiest Says:

    Yay! It’s so easy to do “green” things! I’m not all “save the earth”, but I do believe that God told us to be good stewards of the earth that He gave us- and we need to do a better job!

    We’ve made a ton of little choices to help out: cloth diapers, wool dryer balls, recycling, timers on things like humidifiers, etc. It’s easy- and kinda fun!


Leave a Reply

