Tales of the Toot

'Cuz special needs kids need special mamas!

Time Out Thursday! January 28, 2010

Filed under: family — christycross77 @ 11:16 am
Tags: ,

When I heard that my bloggy friend Theta Mom was restarting her “Time Out for Theta Mom Thursday” posts, I had to get in on the fun. You should too!

Here’s the scoop: Once a month (JUST ONCE A MONTH!!) we’re challenged to get out for one hour BY OURSELVES (what?!?) and do something just for us.

Now, before all the guilt comes pouring in on all us mom types–it’s just an hour–and boy do we EVER need it!

My “hour” actually turned in to 2 1/2 this week (YAY ME!) and I came home happy, relaxed and ready to dive back into my mommy & wifey duties with gusto! So this isn’t selfish “me time” –this is actually beneficial to the entire family. (pets included).

My wonderful mother-in-law (did I mention she lives with us? That’s a post of its own, y’all!) actually watched our little Toot for us and Daddy had his own Time-Out Time while I was having mine. He went to Lowe’s (Boooo!) and I escaped to the local bookstore with my laptop. I leisurely perused the books (with special attention to the writer’s section) bought a few magazines and sat in the book store café drinking a pumpkin spice latte (affectionately termed, PSL) while I abused their free wi-fi.

It was heavenly.

What did you do for yourself this week?

 Oh, and if you need a little laugh, check this out.

~Christy

 

5 Responses to “Time Out Thursday!”

  1. Theta Mom Says:

    OMG, bookstore + laptop + latte = heaven! Awesome time out! And thanks for sharing and linking up! :)

  2. Tinka Says:

    Stopping by from SITS and wishing you a Happt Thursday!!!!

  3. Celia Mooney Says:

    I’m pulling a double-duty time out tomorrow, and I’ve had it planned all week. I’ve been very busy lately and I have been needing a time out, so since tomorrow’s my b-day, I will do absolutely nothing but read and relax. That’s just unheard of in my life. One kid will be at school and the other at mother’s day out. I can’t wait!!!

  4. Dalia Says:

    That sounds perfect! I am thinking I need some time like that too!

  5. I’m afraid if I go out I might not come back!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers